The Chapters Of My Life

Books have been like friends to me since a very young age. Each one was a special friend with a special personality. Someone I could learn a lot from and inculcate in myself those characteristics I learnt from them. And life itself is a lot like a book. Each and every individual has a story to tell. Maybe it won’t be a bestseller; maybe no one will ever read your life. But you know for a fact that to live the life you have takes only an author as unique as you.

Incidents in life are like chapters in a book. One needs to finish a chapter to move on to the next. Yet, you dare not forget the previous chapter lest you lose the rhythm of the story. Think about it. We try to forget painful memories; try to erase them from our minds. But do you think you would be the person you are today without that incident happening? It’s like you’re tearing out a chapter from your life. Would your life continue to make sense after that?

But a chapter must close for another one to begin. The inspiration for the next chapter comes from the previous chapters. One must go on till the book of life ends. Make each and every chapter memorable. Memorable doesn’t mean happy only. A good chapter is one that stimulates you. That has a mixture of pleasure and pain, happiness and sadness and boredom, love and hate and drama. Above all drama. After all, isn’t life a stage and all of us mere actors on it?

A very important chapter of my life has closed. I rue it because it was a beautiful chapter. One that gave me everything. Yet I cannot let this chapter define the book. So I must move on to the next. Who knows what may happen in this next chapter that has begun? I just have to write it as I go along improvising all the way. I’m not doing too badly either.

Leave a Reply

