The Point Is…

Internet cables have been cut in my area because the Metro is coming up right outside my place. For the last week I’ve been without internet access at home. I didn’t mind it much since I work about 12 hours at the office and I’m constantly connected to the net from my phone — 2G for now until my operator introduces 3G in Mumbai — Which may be a while off considering the paperwork and money involved for all parties. There’s nothing like rampant corruption to put a dent in progress.

This brings to mind the issue of Anna Hazare’s fast against corruption. I will not go into details here because I don’t believe any of you reading this have been living under a rock and need me to elaborate. My personal opinion on him and what he has done for this nation is one of awe and nostalgia (?), remembering the lessons I learnt in school of Gandhi and his very powerful movement of peaceful retaliation, known to us all as “Satyagraha”. Martin Luther King Jr. would have approved mightily.

Having turned 25 yesterday I feel like I’ve hit a milestone. Reflecting back on the years past, I think I’m at my most stable right now (I don’t care to define “stable” because it may mean different things to different people). This may or may not be a good thing, because stability brings with it an ample amount of stagnancy in my personal growth, which is death for my delicate soul.

Finding something to do with one’s life is so very important. A cause, a direction that is in tune with one’s core values, ethics and beliefs. I knew I’d find it, just never thought it would be something I could do for a living, seeing as how anti-establishment I am. Doing Social Media has given me that opportunity and I thank my uncle for pushing me into this field.

Brings to mind a quote by Gandhi, “Almost everything you do will seem insignificant, but it is important that you do it”.
My uncle’s loss has been a great blow to my family and I. I admit I have been a difficult person to live with during my teenage years, but over the last few I’ve been a more sober, calm person with an understanding of my eventual responsibilities. This statement in no way absolves me of my waywardness, but I bear my cross with his strength.
I think he left me with a lot of real life lessons, and I truly wish right now that I’d gotten to know him much better than I did. I regret not having taken that effort. Appreciate the people in your life daily, just for them being there.

An important lesson I’ve learnt over the last year is the value of hard work. There really is no substitute, and yes, that sounds clichéd. Regardless, I believe that working hard AND working smart gets you ahead. It’s ALL about the hustle in the end; whether you hustle or get others to hustle for you (I’d prefer the latter state of affairs, thank you very much).
There is something in setting goals. Daily goals, weekly goals, monthly goals, half yearly goals, yearly goals, 2 year goals, 5 year goals, 10 year goals, 15 year goals, 25 year goals. Yes. I have goals for ALL those time periods. Do you? Why not?

Make a list, even if it exists only in your head. You will have direction. Never a day will pass when you question the purpose of your existence, because you will be living with a purpose. I read “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari” many years back and the one quote I remember to this day from it is “The purpose of life is a life of purpose”. I now know the truism of that statement. Read the book in its entirety to understand the profoundness of this message.

The greatest life lessons we learn are from the mistakes we make and survive. Don’t be afraid to fail, be afraid of giving up.

That’s all the randomness I have for you today, folks. Stay tuned for more of it. Or not.

One thought on “The Point Is…

Leave a Reply

