Novel 1: Update 1

I’ve just crossed the 10,000-word mark of my first draft, and that gets me a fifth of the way through to my target of 50,000 words. That, by the end of April. I had dropped out of NaNoWriMo in November, had tried to write without a real plan of what my novel was going to be about or look like. I decided to not make that same mistake this time, for Camp NaNoWriMo, putting together an outline and even a three-page summary of the flow of the novel in the months leading up to April.

Not that it has (so far) turned out the way I had envisioned it; the characters and plot have taken on a life of their own, evolving in surprising ways, coming into existence from some corner of my subconscious I had no idea I had access to.

And it really isn’t the piece of shit I thought it would turn out to be.

The trick during this writing period is to not edit, to quash the inner editor and just write, to get that complete first draft at the end of one month of writing madness. The editing aspect comes later, after you’ve celebrated finishing the first cut of your manuscript with a lot of alcohol and other assorted debauchery, and renewed ties with your family and friends and worried office mates after emerging from your cave.

I’ll post the second update of my progress once I hit the halfway mark of 25,000 words. Wish me luck! 😀

2 thoughts on “Novel 1: Update 1

Leave a Reply

